6 WEEK OLD BABY GIRL BRUTALLY BEAT BY FATHER, DAVID J. WALSH, LEFT WITH PERMANENT BRAIN DAMAGE – CCA0004

 6 WEEK OLD BABY GIRL BRUTALLY BEAT BY FATHER LEFT WITH PERMANENT BRAIN DAMAGE

3A six week old infant had to have half of her skull removed resulting from injuries of torture and abuse by her father. The infant had bruises all over her body, a blood clot in the brain, a fractured skull, 6 fractured ribs, a fractured wrist and leg, retinal hemorrhaging in both eyes, leaving her with brain damage and resulting with her suffering lifelong disabilities.  Her doctors believed the baby wouldn’t survive, but she did, although her quality of life will never be what it could have been.  Why was this little girl so brutally beaten?  Because she wouldn’t stop crying.  Really?  Did this man actually believe hurting his daughter would stop her from crying???  Try changing her diaper, cuddling her, feeding her, giving her a warm bath …. Anything to comfort her.  I will never understand how a parent could do this to their child, or any child for that matter.

When the baby girl’s mother, Ashley Schwartz, came home from work the day of the beating, Walsh told her that the baby was acting funny.  Schwartz called her pediatrician and her mother and headed to the emergency room.  After the doctors at Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar Crest found numerous injuries, it didn’t take long before Walsh was arrested.

David J. Walsh was sentenced to 9 – 20 years in state prison by Lehigh County President Judge William H. Platt.  “My beautiful perfect baby girl will never live up to her full potential and it’s all my fault,” a shackled Walsh told the judge.  “You have a great debt to pay to society,” Platt told Walsh. “You have a great debt to pay to your daughter as well as her family. I don’t know why this happened. I don’t understand it. But it could happen again unless you get the treatment you need.”

This baby girl is nearly 2 now, and she still can’t crawl, let alone walk.  Her bones needed to be broken again after they did not heal correctly.  This little girl suffers from permanent brain damage, the full extent of it is still not known.

Given the malice and brutality of this attack, I can’t understand how 9 – 20 years is fair.  This little girl will suffer for much longer than 9 – 20 years, why shouldn’t Walsh be forced to suffer as long as she does.

CCA0004

LTWH CCA GRAPHIC

~ by LTWH on January 11, 2012.

13 Responses to “6 WEEK OLD BABY GIRL BRUTALLY BEAT BY FATHER, DAVID J. WALSH, LEFT WITH PERMANENT BRAIN DAMAGE – CCA0004”

  1. Who wrote this?

  2. I did – why do you ask?

  3. I’m Ashley Schwartz, that’s about my daughter. When did you write this? I’m sorry, I am not trying to be weird. I was searching information on the criminal case, as evidence as to why David shouldn’t have parental rights and stumbled upon this. It threw me off a bit. It is very well written and I would like permission to put it in my files for the case.

  4. I’m sorry, I’m also just trying to figure out how you knew so much about the case.

  5. Please don’t apologize. I am so sorry for your situation. I can’t imagine how you must feel, and if there is anything we can do for you, please do not hesitate to ask.

    I compiled all the information from various news articles, just spent a couple days researching your daughter’s case. All the information is out there, it is just rather scattered. I tried to take all the facts of the case and put them into one article so people can see the entire picture.

    If this article can be of any help to you, please use it at will. If there is anything you would like me to add, or any pictures you would like posted, please just email me at lightingtheirwayhome@hotmail.ca and I will do so immediately.

    Keep in touch.

  6. I will definately email you an update on how she is. I am messaging from my phone, so it is difficult. Thank you!!!

  7. I will tell you now though, Skyelar is 4 years old now. She just had her birthday. She is cognitively right on schedule, with some speech delay. She is physically disabled. She just crawled for the first time about 2 months ago- which was amazing, and also is able to walk with her gate trainer (walker) unassisted, just not for long periods of time. She is amazing.

  8. The Father sould be Hanged naked with a hook in his back. And Beat with a bat starting at the legs. Breaking all the bones in the lower part of the body. Then swing and break his elbows and hands and arms. Then burned with a lighter to finish him off.

    • I was just sitting here in shock, thinking of an appropriate punishment for this scum. Your idea works as long as he suffers for a long time. Such scum, to cause such pain to a 6 week old!?! OMG

  9. My six week old daughter is in intesive care on life support for a week now. they said she has massive brain damage and fractured ribs and abdominal bleeding. She is a beautiful little girl. Her dad claimed he just dropped her but no one knows for sure. The investigation is still going on. I dont understand why someone would do this to there child. I believe they should pay for what they did by having the same done to them.

    • That’s terrible, my thoughts are with you. If you would like to talk about putting something together for your daughter to post on the site and FB page, please email me at lightingtheirwayhome@hotmail.ca. I would be more than happy to advocate for her.
      Stay strong, I’ll keep you in my thoughts.

  10. My prayers are there with the family. How can a person feel like hurting their kids. Today I saw this story were a 11-month baby brutally beaten by his caretaker in India. Let us keep our candle of love be burning and spread the light

    http://www.thelivepost.com/11-month-baby-brutally-beaten-by-his-caretaker-in-pune-3005140101/

  11. The ‘father’ of the child should be beaten to death!!! he has no reason to live and has no place in society. stupid idiot! may the demons in prison torture you!!!

Leave a Reply

 
